King County Flood Control District home page
The King County Flood Control District is a special purpose government created to provide funding and policy oversight for flood protection projects and programs in King County.
Mission & Vision
Meeting Schedule


The King County Flood Control District is an independent special purpose government. The Metropolitan King County Council functions as the Flood Control District's Board of Supervisors, its primary governing body.

Review legislation related to the King County Flood Control District.

The Flood Control District is also supported by an Advisory Committee of local elected officials and by five basin technical committees from a number of King County jurisdictions.

Board of Supervisors

The King County Flood Control District's Board of Supervisors is comprised of all members of the Metropolitan King County Council. It is responsible for developing a plan for funding maintenance and repairs of the flood control facilities.

  • Dave Upthegrove, Chair
  • Reagan  Dunn, Vice-Chair
  • Claudia Balducci
  • Rod Dembowski
  • Jeanne Kohl-Welles
  • Kathy Lambert
  • Joe McDermott
  • Pete von Reichbauer
  • Girmay Zahilay

Executive Committee

Four members of the Board of Supervisors are elected by the Board to serve on an Executive Committee.  The Executive Committee meets monthly and develops policy recommendations for consideration by the full Board. The Executive Committee members also oversee the day-to-day business of the District.

  • Reagan Dunn, Chair
  • Dave Upthegrove, Vice-Chair
  • Kathy Lambert
  • Pete von Reichbauer

Advisory Committee

The King County Flood District Advisory Committee is composed of elected officials from throughout King County. The Advisory Committee is charged with making recommendations to the District Board of Supervisors related to the annual budget, including capital improvement program projects and funding levels. The Board of Supervisors, in turn, takes these recommendations under advisement as it votes to approve the budget for the District by November 30 of each calendar year. Read more.

Basin Technical Committees

Four Basin Technical Committees ensure that basin-scale issues and technical information are factored into the Flood District's decision-making processes. The Basin Technical Committees provide information to King County Water and Land Resources Division to assist in the development of the annual capital program and provide annual recommendations to the Advisory Committee.

The committees are comprised of city staff from jurisdictions within each of the following major river basins:

  • Snoqualmie/South Fork Skykomish Rivers
  • Cedar/Sammamish Rivers
  • Green/Duwamish River
  • White River