King County Flood Control District home page
The King County Flood Control District is a special purpose government created to provide funding and policy oversight for flood protection projects and programs in King County.
Mission & Vision
Meeting Schedule


Six major river systems flow through King County--the South Fork Skykomish, Snoqualmie, Sammamish, Cedar, Green and White Rivers--along with their significant tributaries, the Tolt, Raging, Miller and Greenwater rivers. Additionally, the county has six other smaller tributaries: Tokul, Kimball, Coal, Issaquah, Fifteen Mile and Holder creeks.

More than 500 flood protection facilities stretch over 119 miles in King County. Many were built 40 years ago by farmers to protect their fields. Now, these aging levees protect major business centers, residences and critical public infrastructure. They span at least $7 billion of assessed value that include Boeing facilities, Southcenter Mall, and distribution centers for medical centers, grocery stores, and gas stations. Approximately 65,000 jobs are located in these areas. It is estimated that a one-day shutdown of economic activity in the King County floodplains would cost the region at least $46 million in lost economic output.

Since 1990, the King County floodplains have been declared a federal flood disaster area 12 times.

In April 2007, the Metropolitan King County Council created a new countywide special purpose district, the King County Flood Control District. A Board of Supervisors made up of all nine Councilmembers oversees the Flood Control District. It is responsible for planning and funding maintenance and repairs of the flood control system.

The Flood Control District is aimed at saving lives, protecting property and ensuring that a significant portion of King County's economic infrastructure is safe from the damage that can be caused by fall and winter storms.